Cor Pot announces Dutch squad for European U21 Championship

Netherlands under 21 national manager Cor Pot has announced his 23-man squad for the European Under-21 Championship in Israel. There are 13 senior internationals in there, which says everything about the frightening array of talent Pot has at his disposal. In contrast to some of the other managers, Pot had the freedom from Oranje coach Louis van Gaal to pick whoever he wants, full internationals included. Van Gaal understands the importance of success at youth tournaments.

The most surprising omissions are are Jetro Willems of PSV, who was the left back for Oranje during the Euro 2012 and HSV centreback Jeffrey Bruma. Both have already been capped at the highest level and will be disappointed not making the cut.

Another suprise omission is the young and talented FC Groningen-defender Virgil Van Dijk. The tall centre-back is, as many others are, a victim of the huge amount of quality defenders breaking through at the moment.

Trindade de Vilhena is Pot's only concern.

Trindade de Vilhena is Pot’s only concern.

The ’24th’ man of the squad is Lerin Duarte. The Heracles-midfielder will step in if young Feyenoord-prodigy Tonny Trindade de Vilhena is not fit ; Feyenoord feel that the 18-year old is not fit enough to play a European Championship at the moment. Feyenoord and PSV can both boast five players each in the squad.

The tournament starts on the 5th of June and the draw hasn’t been kind to the Dutch, as well as for their opponents.

6 June:  Jong Oranje – Germany
9  June: Jong Oranje – Russia
12 June: Jong Oranje – Spain

The squad in full

Goalkeepers: Marco Bizot (FC Groningen), Nick Marsman (Go Ahead Eagles), Jeroen Zoet (RKC Waalwijk, on loan from PSV).

Defenders: Patrick van Aanholt (Vitesse, on loan from Chelsea), Daley Blind (Ajax), Mike van der Hoorn (FC Utrecht), Kelvin Leerdam (Feyenoord), Bruno Martins Indi (Feyenoord), Bram Nuytinck (Anderlecht), Ricardo van Rhijn (Ajax), Stefan de Vrij (Feyenoord).

Midfielders: Jordy Clasie (Feyenoord), Leroy Fer (FC Twente), Marco van Ginkel (Vitesse), Adam Maher (AZ), Kevin Strootman (PSV) ,Tonny Vilhena (Feyenoord).

Attackers:  Memphis Depay (PSV), Ola John (Benfica), Luuk de Jong (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Florian Jozefzoon (RKC Waalwijk), Jürgen Locadia (PSV)  Georginio Wijnaldum (PSV).


There are no comments

Add yours