RSC Anderlecht defend their title at the Aegon Future Cup in Amsterdam

Tomorrow starts the 2014 edition of the AEGON Future Cup in Amsterdam. This prestigious tournament already produced some big names in European football. This year is the fifth edition of the Cup. Anderlecht already won 2 of the 4 editions. Last year they’ve beaten Ajax with 2-0 in the finals.

Adidas best player of AEGON Future Cup:

2010: Davy Klaassen (Ajax)
2011: DENNIS PRAET (Anderlecht)
2012: Queensy Menig (Ajax)
2013: NABIL JAADI (Anderlecht)
2014: ???

Last season, Anderlecht’s striker and step brother of Michy Batshuayi, Leya Iseka, and Vaclav Cerny from Ajax, was the topscorer of the AEGON Future Cup. He scored three goals in five matches for the Belgian club. This year he’s one year older so he should be able to do even better than last year.

The 4 editions of the AEGON Future Cup have been dominated by AFC Ajax and RSC Anderlecht. Both clubs have two victories so another clash  between those two teams in the finals would give this season’s edition something extra.

Participants 2014 of the AEGON Future Cup:

AFC Ajax
Liverpool FC
SL Benfica
Celtic FC
SC Corinthians

Anderlecht come with some interesting players to this edition. Alper Ademoglu for example who signed his professional contract this week will participate. Same for Wout Faes who also signed a professional contract with the Belgian club. Another interesting player to watch is the Nepalese striker who’s on loan, Bimal Gharti Majar. Anderlecht are testing the player for two weeks before signing him. The AEGON Future Cup is the perfect tournament to show his potential.

Anderlecht’s squad for the AEGON Future Cup 2014:

Yanni Devriend, Mile Svilar

Tony Amrani, Andrea Morias, Wout Faes, Nathan de Medina, Bjorn Schoukens, Jason Eyenga-Lokilo

Alper Ademoglu, Orel Mangala, Frank Mikal, Oliver Sarkic, Kobe Cools, Bryan Provoost-Likinga, Kevin De jonge

Aaron Leya Iseka, Bimal Gharti Magar

There are no comments

Add yours